Economics Nobel prize by undergraduate institution

The Econ Nobel started being awarded in 1969. I’ve listed the universities with an equal number of Nobels in order of which won a Nobel most recently.


– Momentum has shifted from European undergrad institutions to American institutions. The last time Oxford and Leningrad graduates won the prize were in 1977 and 1975 respectively

– No graduates from Stanford or UPenn, but 2 graduatesfrom Amherst and City College of New York each

1) Harvard University, 5

Christopher A. Sims, 2011

Eric S. Maskin, 2007

Roger B. Myerson, 2007

Merton H. Miller, 1990

Robert M. Solow, 1987

James Tobin, 1981

2=) University of California, Berkeley 4

Thomas J. Sargent, 2011

Thomas C. Schelling, 2005

Douglass C. North, 1992 (graduated from Cal with a “C” grade average, apparently)

Lawrence R. Klein, 1980

2=) Yale University, 4

Peter A. Diamond, 2010

Paul Krugman, 2008

George A. Akerlof, 2001

William Vickrey, 1996

2=) University of Chicago, 4

Robert E. Lucas Jr., 1995

Harry M. Markowitz, 1990

Herbert A. Simon, 1978

Paul A. Samuelson, 1970

5=) University of California, Los Angeles, 2

Elinor Ostrom, 2009

William F. Sharpe, 1990 (transferred from Berkeley)

5=) Amherst College, 2

Edmund S. Phelps, 2006

Joseph E. Stiglitz, 2001 (did his final year at MIT)

5=) City College of New York, 2

Robert J. Aumann, 2005

Kenneth J. Arrow, 1972

5=) Princeton University, 2

A. Michael Spence, 2001

Gary S. Becker, 1992

5=) University of Cambridge, 2

Amartya Sen, 1998 (after having done another BA at the University of Calcutta. First South Asian to win the Econ Nobel, though perhaps would have shared this honour with his lifelong friend Mahbub ul Haq, who had undergrad degrees from Government College, Lahore as well as the University of Cambridge, had he not died prematurely)

Richard Stone, 1984

5=) Columbia University, 2

Robert C. Merton, 1997

Simon Kuznets, 1971

5=) London School of Economics, 2

Ronald H. Coase, 1991

Sir Arthur Lewis, 1978 (first black Economics Nobel)

 5=) University of Oslo, 2

Trygve Haavelmo, 1989

Ragnar Frisch, 1969

5=) University of Oxford, 2

James E. Meade, 1977

John R. Hicks, 1972

5=) Leningrad University (today St Petersburg State University), 2

Leonid Vitaliyevich Kantorovich, 1975

Wassily Leontief, 1973

15=) Williamette University

Dale T. Mortensen, 2010

15=) University of Essex

Christopher A. Pissarides, 2010

15=) Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Oliver E. Williamson, 2009

15=) University of Warsaw

Leonid Hurwicz, 2007

15=) Norwegian School of Economics

Finn E. Kydland, 2004

15=) Swarthmore College

Edward C. Prescott, 2004

15=) Williams College

Robert F. Engle III, 2003

15=) University of Nottingham

Clive W.J. Granger, 2002

15=) Hebrew University

Daniel Kahneman, 2002

15=) Caltech

Vernon L. Smith, 2002

15=) Colorado College

James J. Heckman, 2000

15=) University of Minnesota

Daniel L. McFadden, 2000

15=) University of British Columbia

Robert A. Mundell, 1999

15=) University of Calcutta

Amartya Sen, 1998 (subsequently did another BA at Cambridge)

15=) McMaster University

Myron S. Scholes, 1997

15=) University of Edinburgh

James A. Mirrlees, 1996

15=) University of Budapest

John C. Harsanyi, 1994 (began at University of Lyon before WWII)

15=) Carnegie Mellon University

John F. Nash Jr., 1994

15=) Goethe Universitaet, Frankfurt am Main

Reinhard Selten, 1994

15=) Cornell University

Robert W. Fogel, 1993

15=) École Polytechnique

Maurice Allais, 1998 (also studied at the École nationale supérieure des mines de Paris)

15=) Middle Tennessee State University

James M. Buchanan Jr., 1986

15=) Paris Sorbonne University

Franco Modigliani, 1985 (“I enrolled at the Sorbonne but found the teaching there uninspiring and a waste of time”

15=) École Normale Supérieure

Gerard Debreu, 1983

15=) University of Washington

George J. Stigler, 1982

15=) South Dakota State College

Theodore W. Schultz, 1979

15=) Lund University

Bertil Ohlin, 1977

15=) Rutgers University

Milton Friedman, 1976

15=) University of Utrecht

Tjalling C. Koopmans, 1975

15=) Stockholm University

Gunnar Myrdal, 1974

15=) University of Vienna

Friedrich August von Hayek, 1974

15=) Leiden University

Jan Tinbergen, 1969


One thought on “Economics Nobel prize by undergraduate institution

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s